top of page

The Next Generation

A common thing I hear from my other kids my age about ethical consumerism is that they don't have the freedom to create their own diet or shop where they want. There is an overwhelming sense for a lot of teenagers that what they consume is not up to them. I have friends who want to stop eating meat produced by unethical factory farms, but are stopped by the expectations and concerns of their parents. It broke my heart to hear these things initially, but I've come to understand that not everyone feels that they have the freedom to choose.

To those kids, I would say this: Negotiate and do what you can. Ask your parents why they would prefer you fall in alignment with their lifestyles- the answer might surprise you. Talk to them about taking small steps, no matter how small they may be. Simple things like switching to reusable grocery bags, recycling at home, using reusable water bottles, or supporting local ethical businesses when your budget allows you to are all little things that make a big difference.

If you're in the same place I was before I started aligning my actions with my beliefs, you're already off to a great start. It's not about radicalizing your lifestyle overnight. If you can, great, but taking steps within your immediate control to minimize your impact is always better than doing nothing at all.


bottom of page